Skiing Trapper Peak, Bitterroots

June 4, 2009 at 23:11 | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Flowers were blooming along the south facing trail into the basin

Flowers were blooming along the south facing trail into the basin

The view south from Trapper Peak's summit to Boulder East and Main

The view south from Trapper Peak's summit to Boulder East and Main

Trapper Peak, Bitterroots Icon, another Montana headwall to ski.

Ski Trapper Peak, Bitterroots Icon, another Montana headwall to ski.

June 3rd- It looked like yesterday might be the last day for a shot at sunshine touring so I took advantage of the partly sunny morning to head out to the south and go for a ski on Trapper Peak. I had some ideas of what I might want to do but nothing set. I really wanted to get a closer look at the north side gullies off the East Peak and started with that as a destination. When I got to the first Lake I decided to follow the ridge rather than the basin and put myself on a summit approach. I thought about skiing the Gem Lake couloir but it was overhung with its cornice and dripping a fountain onto the run so on I went to the summit where I enjoyed stellar Bitterroot Mountain views especially of East Boulder Peak and also of El Capitan, what great mountains. I skied north into the main run and enjoyed the skiing a bit more than when at St. Mary’s. Probably because I had daylight and had not taken a detour with my dog… no dog today. Working my way down  along the east peak I caught the glimpses up that I wanted before making the traversing climb back to the ridge and into Baker Creek. This turned out to be the most exciting with some rock climbing and scrambling thrown into the bag for the day. Good exposure to the mountains on this uber-classic tour; another great Montana headwall ski.
There were many tracks on the mountain, hikers, snowshoers, and skiers. All from the weekend as I saw noone there yesterday.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Way to keep getting after it John! Looks like a great day…I like the new site too. Keep it up…

    • Thanks Jeff, it has been fun figuring out the whole blog thing so that the conversation can be more two way and open. I hope we can get out skiing together next season. I had a number of highlights to the ski season but none better than meeting like minded mountain people eager to go explore the inner Bitterroot! Have a great summer.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

